Why does Indonesia have so many islands?

Indonesia has so many islands it has never been able to fully count or name them. A 1996 law estimated the number of islands in the world’s biggest archipelago at 17,508. But no-one really knows exactly how many islands are even in that area. …

Why are there so many islands in Indonesia and Philippines?

Both Indonesian and Philippines archipelagos are a result of a combination of volcanic activity and tectonic plate movement. … The islands are initially cause by the volcanoes, and later the shifting of tectonic plates results in their consolidation as a grouping of small islands in a relatively small area.

What makes Indonesia unique?

It has 139 volcanoes

Indonesia has the third most volcanoes in the world, behind the US and Russia, according to the National Museum of Natural History’s Global Volcanism Program. The volcanic island of Krakatoa, between Java and Sumatra, is perhaps the most famous.

How was Indonesia islands formed?

The Indonesian archipel- ago formed over the past 300 million years by reassembly of fragments rifted from the Gondwana supercontinent that arrived at the Eurasian subduction margin. The present-day geology of Indonesia is broadly the result of Cenozoic subduction and collision at this margin.

What’s the meaning of archipelagos?

1 : an expanse of water with many scattered islands. 2 : a group of islands. 3 : something resembling an archipelago especially : a group or scattering of similar things an archipelago of small parks within the city.

THIS IS INTERESTING:  What is the Philippine tourism tagline?

How are islands formed Upsc?

Other than Subduction Zones, convergent plate boundaries also lead to mountain building and the formation of island arcs (Festoons). If both the convergent plates are oceanic, the volcanoes form a curved line of islands, known as an island arc, that is parallel to the trench.

Is Borneo a part of Indonesia?

Covering an area of roughly 287,000 square miles, Borneo is the third-largest island in the world. It is divided into four political regions: Kalimantan belongs to Indonesia; Sabah and Sarawak are part of Malaysia; a small remaining region comprises the sultanate of Brunei.

Your first trip